>An innocent trip to TJ Maxx on Friday turned into INSPIRATION!

In the midst of the kitchen gadgets sat three shiny Potato Ricers. They were a bargain at just $6.99. I bought all three! (One for me, one for mom, and one for Dori at church)Let's make LEFSE
When I brought it home, the kids were curious. “What is that?” they wondered. I told them it was a potato ricer, and it was used to rice potatoes for making lefse.
This morning, I was encouraged to give it a try with incessant chanting from Ethan, “LEFSE! LEFSE! LEFSE!”
Luckily, I have a Lefse recipe taped inside my cabinet door and, being a good Norwegian, had all of the necessary Lefse ingredients on hand.
Pioneer Woman I am not, however, and I did not think to take photos of the Lefse in progress, so please forgive these Google Images . . .Let's make LEFSE
Start with peeling 5 medium potatoes. (A red and white gingham apron really helps you get in the mood, but if you want to know the truth, I was wearing my pink twisty towel.) Then you boil the potatoes. Now, I’m a busy woman and don’t have the time (read: patience) to boil potatoes on the stove, which is why I always nuke them for 12 minutes in my Classic 2 qt. Batter Bowl from . . . you guessed it . . . the Pamered Chef. Then you RICE the potatoes. And yes, it does remind me of the Play -Doh! Fuzzy Pumper Barber shop. Add 3 Tbs. butter, 1/2 cup of milk and a tsp of salt and refrigerate. When cool, roll the lefse dough into balls. If you don’t have an official “Lefse Roller” (I don’t either) you’ll have to make do with a regular rolling pin. Roll those babies and thin as you can and place them on a hot, ungreased skillet to brown. If you don’t have an official Lefse Turning stick (I don’t either – but HEY! I didn’t have a Potato Ricer until yesterday either!) then use a spatula to flip the lefse to brown on both sides. The lefse will look like a tortilla . . . only MUCH MORE BEAUTIFUL!Let's make lefse!

Keep the Lefse between damp towels to keep moist. Spread with butter and sprinkle with sugar, then roll up and ENJOY!

