>

Ever heard the saying that “There’s only one thing better than owning your own boat?  Having a friend who owns their own boat!”  Well, in our case, the saying should be “What’s the next best thing to having a cabin on the lake?  Having friends with a cabin on the lake!”

Gracie’s BFF Sarah and her mom Beth invited us to their family’s lakehouse at Beaver Lake last weekend.  We were THRILLED to accept the invitation!   I was only too happy to plan the meals (egg bake Saturday morning, pimiento cheese sandwiches ALL weekend long, my meatloaf and rice for dinner as Sarah’s special request),  shop for groceries and make plans for a relaxing weekend at the lake.  I love to cook and, for whatever strange reason, I don’t mind the cleaning up part when I’m at the cabin.  It’s kind of like playing house when I was a little girl.

The only bad part was that Beth was called in to work and didn’t get to spend NEAR enough time with us!  Next time we want her to STAY!  

So we took off work early on Friday, loaded up, gassed up the boat and were at the lakehouse by 7:00.  What a spectacular place!  The main floor has a full kitchen with icemaker, dishwasher and disposal, a dining table that seats 8, and a great room with one wall that is ALL WINDOWS looking out over the lake.  There was a screened in porch with gas grill and a wrap around deck. 

Downstairs were three bedrooms, Jack and Jill bathroom, and a laundry room.   The decor in this place was fantastic.  Shaker style furniture and lots of antiques, mounted fish, and “Cabin Decor.”   I could live there!

We brought Dollie with us and that little stinker got loose and took off running within the first 30 minutes we were there.  We chased her down and kept a closer rein on her the rest of the weekend.  She liked being on the dock – but she wasn’t too sure about the boat — especially when it was going 45 miles per hour.


We fished,
we tubed,
we skiied,
we ate.

We fished,
we tubed,
we skiied,
we ate.

 
And I read, 
and I read,
. . . and I read.
  I read an entire book that weekend! 

We’d read on the deck in the morning drinking coffee, 
we’d read on the deck in the evening after dinner.  
 

On Sunday morning I was startled by 5 deer while I was out on the deck reading . . .I was quick enough to get a couple of photos . . .

Mostly we just enjoyed having nothing on the agenda

except to eat when we were hungry, jump in when we were hot, and hang on for dear life behind the tube when we were feeling adventurous!

Oh . . . and take picture when the kids were silly, which was often!

