>There is a reason why that old tv show “Kids Say the Darndest Things” featured children between the ages of about 4 and 6.  After that, their funny comments become fewer and farther apart.  They still say things that are amusing.  I think my kids are hilarious.  But you don’t have that “awwww!  Isn’t s/he sweet?!?!” reaction quite so frequently.

I had one of those rare moments this week with the 9-year-old.

Genna was invited to a sleepover birthday party but, as usual, her mom couldn’t seem to get it together long enough to shop for a birthday present BEFORE the day of the party.  (Remember that 3 day audit I told you about?  Yeah, maybe not, you probably skipped that long post.  Who could blame ya?)

So in the mad morning rush of getting ready for school I asked Gen what I should get for her friend Grier’s present.  Without a moment’s hesitation she replied, “Makeup.  And headbands.  Grier loves headbands.”

“Okay, good idea, ” I said.  Simple enough.

I turned and walked back towards my bedroom and then she added, ” And when I say makeup, I mean Chapstick.  Dr. Pepper flavored Chapstick.”

Thanks for the clarification.


