I’m one third of the way through reading the Bible in 90 days (a fun little “light” summer read suggested by my pastor.)

I’m reading the Lutheran Study Bible which has great little notes out to the side which either provide some historical context, summarize what is happening, or point out a theme. Another type of note simply asks a question that, like Arsenio Hall, makes me go “hmmm?”


Today I read this from1 Chronicles 12:18. Amasai, chief of David’s Thirty (before he was king) says, “we are yours, O David; and with you, O son of Jesse! Peace, peace to you, and peace to the one who helps you! For your God is the one who helps you.”

Now the note is the margin says: “The familiar translation of shalom is inadequate. Prosperity and success are closer, but fall short of the emphasis on the wholeness, unity, and integrity that Amasai wishes for the people.”

Here’s what got me humming: “What would change in your life if you thought of peace as more than the absence of war? In what way does your life need peace.”

The Peace of the Lord be with you all.

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

