What’s better after a long day of work and school than coming home, sitting down together at the table for dinner and sharing “Best Part/Worst Part?”

Not much I tell ya!

We’re not Ozzie and Harriet around here, but sometimes our dinners are.

Last night’s dinner was meatloaf, “yummy rice,” and corn.  Ok, so the nutritional value may have been lacking, but there were 5 clean plates and no complaints!

Not *THAT* kind of Meatloaf!

As I was throwing together my meatloaf, it occurred to me that I have the simplest meatloaf recipe ever.  After years of going back and forth between oats, soda crackers and breadcrumbs as my “binder,” my mom finally shared Grandma Grace’s recipe meatloaf recipe with me.  Are you ready?  It’s rather complicated. It’s two ingredients:

Mix them together, throw them in your loaf pan and bake at 350 until done.  (about 45 minutes to an hour.)

Always serve with “yummy rice.”  I can’t believe I haven’t posted that recipe before.  It’s a staple around here for mid-week dinners, weekend cookouts, Thanksgiving, and church potlucks.  Here’s how you make “yummy rice:”

Combine all ingredients and bake at 350 for 45 minutes to an hour.  Or throw it in the slow-cooker  for several hours — which is what I do if I’m taking it to a potluck.

 

