I am participating in the Arkansas Women Bloggers “Blogtober-Fest” challenge.  Today’s blogging challenge:  Halloween Memories

This isn’t so much a Halloween memory as it is a memory of my most vivid childhood dream/nightmare – and it just happens to have a Halloween element, so let’s just go with it, shall we?

Everyone dreams.  Scientists claim that even people who don’t think they dream, do, in fact dream.  My mom has C-Razy dreams.  I have recurring dreams that my teeth are crumbling and I’m spitting them out.  I also dream that I’m in car accidents.  In fact, I have that dream so often that I’ve trained myself to recognize it as a dream.  Right after the impact I tell myself, “This isn’t real.  It’s just a dream.” and I wake up.

But this blog post is about a dream that I had, literally, about 36 years ago.

When I was a REALLY little kid (like, 4 or 5 years old) I had a vivid nightmare.  We were living on 18th street in Sioux Falls.  A car pulled up in the street and slowed down and stopped right in front of our house.  My mom and dad and I walked out to the street to see who it was.  It was a WITCH!  (this is the scary Halloween reference)

The witch uttered the most ominous, bone-chilling words I have EVER heard in my ENTIRE LIFE!  She said . . .

“Come make a wish on my thumb.”

“Come make a wish on my THUMB.”

And like Fonzie saying “Eyyyyyyy!” she stuck out a thumb like a green-faced, pointy-nosed hitch-hiker.  It was TERRIFYING!

My parents were nudging me forward to go and make my wish.  Inside my head I was screaming in terror! “Can’t you see this woman is a witch?!!?”

Then I woke up.

Photo Credit: http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/islandblogging/blogs/005163/

