We have a winner!

Last weekend on our anniversary trip, Mark and I had lunch at Local Flavor.  We ordered their chips and salsa as an appetizer, which was a salsa duo.  One salsa traditional, the other a mango/craisin concoction that I haven’t been able to get off of my mind!

With this being Memorial Day weekend, it was the perfect opportunity to try and re-create the recipe and then test it out on unsuspecting guinea pigs my family.

Let’s just say, it was a hit!  In about 10 minutes flat we had devoured an entire bag of taco chips and the salsa too!  (Which is why I have a photo of the ingredients and NOT the finished product.  That, and a I sustained and injury while prepping the salsa.  When they suggest wearing latex gloves while chopping jalapenos, they really mean it!)

mango salsa ingredientsIngredients

  • 2 ripe mangos, peeled and chopped
  • juice of 2 limes
  • 1 clove of garlic, pressed
  • 2 Tbs. red onion, minced
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped (Wear the gloves. Trust me.)
  • 2 Tbs. cilantro, chopped
  • 2 Tbs. honey

Directions

Combine all ingredients and refrigerate for at least 1 hour, allowing flavors to meld.  Serve with chips, or on top of grilled fish.

