20130919-180053.jpg

This week I was in Little Rock for a fundraising event and the annual meeting of the Arkansas Nonprofit Alliance, an organization I support by serving on its board of directors.

Both events were held at the Clinton Presidential Library. I’ve visited the museum before, and did a quick walk through of two traveling exhibits while I was there (one on Oscar de la Renta and one on the March on Washington.)

I also paused to watch video clips of some of Clinton’s funnier moments. I love it when important people have a healthy dose of self deprecating humor. It somehow makes them more relatable.

But mostly I was just overcome with nostalgia. Clinton was elected shortly after Mark and I were married, and I recall that time as being filled with optimism. Yes, I’m a Pollyanna and a glass half-full kind of girl. And I will ALWAYS believe in a place called Hope.

