The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown
My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
Why I Picked It: This was a book club pick, not something I would have likely chosen for myself. But, as always, I appreciate being stretched beyond my personal preferences. That’s how we grow! boys in boat

Details/Topics: The subtitle says it all:  Nine American’s and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Favorite Quotes:

“…when Hitler watched Joe and the boys fight their way back from the rear of the field to sweep ahead of Italy and Germany seventy-five years ago, he saw, but did not recognize, heralds of his doom. He could not have known that one day hundreds of thousands of boys just like them , boys who shared their essential natures – decent and unassuming, not privileged or favored by anything in particular, just loyal, committed and perseverant – would return to Germany dressed in olive drab and hunt him down.”

