Book Review: The Kite RunnerInspired by my friend Sarah Daigle, who was inspired by my beach reading posts, I FINALLY picked up and purchased Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner.  Oh. My. Word. Absolutely my favorite book of the year.

I’ve picked this book up at least a hundred times when browsing Barnes and Noble. For whatever reason, the book jacket’s description of the friendship between two Afghani boys and a complicated father-son relationship didn’t grab me. It wasn’t until my friend Sarah told me, “I am reading the Kite Runner and am in love with language use that reads more exotic than American writers and the dialog is poetic,” that I vowed to give it a try.  She was right.

Lyrical, haunting, hopeful. A book I will read again and again.

Favorite Quotes:

  • “For you, a thousand times over.”
  • “There are a lot of children in Afghanistan, but little childhood.”
  • “Sad stories make good books.”
  • “Not a word passes between us, not because we have nothing to say, but because we don’t have to say anything – that is how, it is between people who are each other’s first memories.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

